Pennsylvania DUI Law

PA DUI -Bucks, Montgomery, Northampton, Lehigh County

Vincent D Margiotti Esq. LLC

Nationally Certified in Field Sobriety Testing

For a free, no-obligation consultation, call me now at 215-822-1888

PA DUI defense attorney protecting Pennsylvania drivers

New Pennsylvania DUI Law

New DUI Law Raises Legal Questions

Pennsylvania has taken the position that a person’s Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) and number of the particular offense will dictate what punishment they will receive.

As of February 2, 2004 there are 3 categories a person will fall into based on the level of the alcohol in their system. There is .08-.099, .10 - .159, and .16 and higher included in this category are refusal to submit to a test. All of the categories require a Court Reporting Network (CRN) evaluation; the first and second offenders require Alcohol Highway Safety School. (AHSS). The first offense with a BAC .16 or higher and all subsequent offenses require a mandatory Drug and Alcohol (D&A) assessment and treatment. All second and subsequent offense requires the installation of an Ignition Interlock System.

FIRST OFFENSE

(NO PRIOR PA DUI OFFENSES WITHIN THE LAST 10 YEARS)

BAC is .08 to .099. This is an ungraded misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum probation and a $300.00 fine. Required CRN, AHSS and possible D&A. There is no loss of license and no jail time with this particular category.

BAC is .10 to .159. This is an ungraded misdemeanor with a mandatory 48 hour imprisonment up to a possible 6 months and a $500.00 to $5,000.00 fine. Required CRN, AHSS and possible D&A. The license suspension is 12 months. However there is a possibility to get an Occupational Limited License (OLL) after serving a hard 2 month suspension.

BAC is .16 or higher or refusal to give a blood or breath sample. This is ungraded misdemeanor with a mandatory 72 hour imprisonment up to a possible 6 months and a $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 fine. Required CRN, AHSS and mandatory full D&A. The license suspension is 12 months. Also possibility for OLL after serving hard 2 months suspension.

SECOND OFFENSES

BAC is .08 to .099. This is an ungraded misdemeanor with a mandatory 5 days imprisonment 6 month maximum jail sentence and a $300.00 to $2,500.00 fine. The license suspension is for 12 months. Required CRN, AHSS, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

BAC is .10 to .159. This is ungraded misdemeanor with a mandatory 30 days imprisonment 6 month maximum jail sentence and a $750.00 to $5,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 12 months. Required CRN, AHSS, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

BAC is .16 or higher or a refusal. This is graded as a misdemeanor of the First Degree with a mandatory 90 days imprisonment 5 year maximum jail sentence and a $ 1,500.00 to $10,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 12 months. Required CRN, AHSS, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

THIRD OFFENSES

BAC is .08 to .099. This is graded as misdemeanor of the Second Degree with a mandatory 10 days imprisonment 2 year maximum jail sentence and a $500.00 to $5,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 12 months. Required CRN, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

BAC is .10 to .159. This is graded as a misdemeanor of the First Degree with a mandatory 90 days imprisonment 5 year maximum jail sentence and a $1,500.00 to $10,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 18 months. Required CRN, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

BAC is .16 or higher or a refusal. This is graded as a misdemeanor of the First Degree with a mandatory 1 year imprisonment 5 year maximum jail sentence and a $ 2,500.00 to $10,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 18 months. Required CRN, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

FOURTH PA DUI OFFENSE

BAC is .08 to .099. This is graded as misdemeanor of the Second Degree with a mandatory 10 days imprisonment 2 year maximum jail sentence and a $500.00 to $5,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 12 months. Required CRN, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

BAC is .10 to .159. This is graded as a misdemeanor of the First Degree with a mandatory 1 year imprisonment 5 year maximum jail sentence and a $1,500.00 to $10,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 18 months. Required CRN, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

BAC is .16 or higher or a refusal. This is graded as a misdemeanor of the First Degree with a mandatory 1 year imprisonment 5 year maximum jail sentence and a $ 2,500.00 to $10,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 18 months. Required CRN, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

Serving the Boroughs and Townships of Bucks County:

Bedminster, Bensalem, Bridgeton, Bristol, Buckingham, Chalfont, Doylestown, Dublin, Durham, East Rockhill,Falls, Haycock,Hilltown, Hulmeville, Ivyland, Langhorne,Langhorne Manor, Lower Makefield, Lower Southampton, Middletown,Milford, Morrisville, New Britain, New Hope, Newtown, Nockamixon, Northampton, Penndel, Perkasie, Plumstead Township Quakertown, Richland, Richlandtown, Riegelsville, Sellersville, Silverdale, Solebury, Springfield,Telford, Tinicum,Trumbauersville, Tullytown, Upper Makefield, Upper Southampton, Warminster, Warrington, Warwick, West Rockhill, Wrightstown, Yardley

PA DUI -Bucks, Montgomery, Northampton, Lehigh County
Vincent D Margiotti Esq. LLC
2307 North Broad Street
Lansdale/ Colmar, PA 18915, US

E-mail:margiottilaw@verizon.net
For a free, no-obligation consultation call, 215-822-1888

If you would like to chat online with someone in my firm to get answers to your questions, click the Icon just above.

Read This Page First
When you've been arrested for a DUI and you don't think it's fair, you need a lawyer who can protect your rights...

Free PA DUI Evaluation

What Happens After A PA DUI Arrest?
There are usually both Motor Vehicle and Court Proceedings.

How Much Will A PA DUI Conviction Cost Me?

Top 5 Automatic Pennsylvania DUI Conviction Myths

CDL Disqualifications
Commercial Drivers License Offenses and Suspensions

A Little Fact The Police Don't Want You To Know

Ten Mistakes
How to avoid the 10 biggest mistakes most people make after being arrested for a PA DUI.

Case Tips
53 Things YOU Need to Know about Your PA DUI Case that No One is Telling You

DUI FAQS
Frequently Asked Questions in Pennsylvania DUI Cases

Calculate Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)

Testimonials

Attorney Fees
What you will be charged and methods of payment

Find A DWI DUI Drunk Driving Lawyer In Your State

DUI Resources

Links

New Pennsylvania DUI Law

Refusal Of Chemical Testing

The Fallacy Of The Pennsylvania Sobirety Tests You Took

Top PA DUI Defense Tactics

Challenges
There are many possible challenges that can be made to the charges you are facing.

Police Mistakes
Mistakes the police make...and how they can help you.

Recent Cases
Recent Cases Which May Be Helpful In Your Defense Of A Pennsylvania DUI

What Can I Do To Save My License?
Fight to save your license! If you drive after losing your license, you face substantial penalties.

Here's how you may be able to mitigate your DUI sentence

Attorney Information
Attorney Information. Area covered. Address. Phones.

Enter your address and get a map to our office

Occupational License

How Do I Request a PA DMV Hearing?

DUI News

Home

Sitemap